Why I Don’t Use Twitter (Yet)

This blog is about leadership and social networking. However, I’m personally not very good at the online social networking, at least when it comes to being available online. For example, I don’t use Twitter, and here is why:

  1. Productivity. Researching and blogging about leadership in online communities is not my main job (which currently is managing IT service support), so I can’t spend a lot of time doing it. I have discovered that I’m most productive when I limit my online activity to minimum. I scan through my favourite blogs to look for new topics and research Google when I already found a topic to cover. I then print out the most interesting posts or articles (small font and two-sided printing to limit the impact on the forests), and read them over a cup of coffee rather than on screen. I make paper notes first and only approach my PC when I’ve already created a good draft of a post. This is my way to reach the flow state by decreasing the number of interruptions.
  2. Quality. Since I don’t have much time to spend online, I prefer to focus on quality information. And the quality of blog posts is normally much better than quality of tweets. This goes also the other way round, I choose to write one thoughtful post rather than 10 short messages.
  3. Respect. I don’t think I’m able to spend enough time on Twitter to use it thoughtfully. I could start using it without much hassle, writing anything off the top of my head, but that would not show respect for the potential followers. And respect is important.

Yet, I also see reasons why I might start using Twitter:

  1. Networking. Twitter is a great tool to approach new people and build a network with your prospective partners or customers.
  2. Listening. Leading any project requires listening to your team, so that you can react quickly if there are any issues, risks or bad feelings. Leading a distributed project, in an online community environment, makes this challenging – but Twitter can help to overcome this challenge.
  3. Marketing. If you have a great product, Twitter may help to spread the news.

How about you? Why are you (not) using Twitter?

2 Responses to “Why I Don’t Use Twitter (Yet)”


  1. 1 Larry Irons August 13, 2008 at 3:03 am

    Twitter is good if you need to coordinate activities with other people. It is not a collaboration tool. These are two types of related, but different, channels of communication.


  1. 1 A Story About Attention And Leadership « Leadership in Social Networks Trackback on August 13, 2008 at 2:58 pm

Leave a Reply

